The Wheel of Time
    Cycle 1
  • The Eye of the World
  • The Great Hunt
  • The Dragon Reborn

    Cycle 2

  • The Shadow Rising
  • The Fires of Heaven
  • Lord of Chaos

    Cycle 3

  • A Crown of Swords
  • The Path of Daggers
  • Winter's Heart

Robert Jordan

3 of 5

A mixed bag of pleasures and disappointments, Robert Jordan's Wheel of Time series often seems as directionally-challenged as its wool-headed protagonist, Rand. Applying a model-maker's detailed brush to depict a world in the death-throes of apocalyptic conflict has proved to be quite a formidable task. Featuring a growing pageant of characters, motives, and locales, the story expands far beyond the principal group of Rand's friends, followers, and foes to encompass a hundred subleties of war, romance, and political intrigue. In perhaps the only coherent way to tell a story of such scope, Jordan seems to have adopted the roughly cyclical structure of an oral saga, flitting from view to view in the characters' inexorable march to uncover their own mysterious origins.

Previous: David & Leigh Eddings Next: Madeleine L'Engle

Go to Top of Page Return to Main Go to Site Index